Sleepless summers

Posted: May 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

Blessed are those who can get into deep slumber at the drop of a hat. Its been more than half a decade since I became a staunch insomaniac. As long as I was in school, before even the moment the clock would strike ten I would be in bed blissfully asleep. Even the ground grumbling beneath me wouldn’t wake me up. And oh yeah, once because of my deep slumber, I kept my whole family locked outside the doors and slept undisturbed by the roaring  calling bell. 

And then came the four years of college life which turned me upside down. Be it a grooving gossip or a crazy chit chat with a chai or a copy-righted attention-seeking assignment or the gillion giggles, they all had to be done at late-night. It was not long before I lost my ability to sleep…. Then came the days when I tried hard and then harder to sleep(Ofcourse after 3.AM).

Now there are not any late-night gossip nor any chai but Im still awake. People suggested me to count till hundred to get sleep, and in reverse, they insisted.  I sought google for rescue. And GOOGLE suggested me to imagine a meadow with row of sleeping cows. The belief was that imagining this would calm a person from inside and the sight of sleeping cows would put a peron to sleep.  Sleeping cows? I wondered. I could only visualise them munching which set me on a food hunt in the middle of the night.

I do count now, both in reverse and in order and I do see the vast green meadows and the sleeping cows but sleep is still a distant dream.

Comments
  1. Satyakam says:

    Hi Nachu,Even I am suffering from the same problem (IF we can call it so)! Even I was like u, an early bird. Even one I locked my family out as u did :)I feel there cud be many aspects to it. Bad sleeping habit, brooding on unnecessary things while going to sleep, lack of exercise and also spending lot of time in front of computer & TV.Quality sleep rejuvenates the mind and the body!Happy Sleeping

  2. lostworld says:

    Ohhh how sad 😦 I need 8hours of sleep everyday at any cost, otherwise I am so cranky I can annoy myself. Try having a bath just before you sleep. It helps. Or listen to soothing music. Counting sheep and cow has never helped me either. Good luck!

  3. Alok says:

    Sleep is something which does exactly oppsite of what you want. During exams when I wanted "not" to sleep I would get sleep as if I have not slept since ages. When the exams were over and I would want to sleep, I never got sleep easily.I guess the best solution for you will be to try "not" to sleep to get sleep:P.Jokes aside, trying to read or imagining boring things like technical material might help a bit!!

  4. nachu says:

    @Satyakam: I religiously follow all the things you have mentioned in the not-to-do list… πŸ˜‰ And good to know that Im not the only one to have locked people out.@lostworld: Hey thanks for the suggestions..will try them ut and let you know the results :)@Alok: Hmmmm your ideas sound promising πŸ˜›

  5. Sorcerer says:

    first time on your blog."Sleep deprived..you are"-Yoda!I think you may be turning into a nocturnal or something..but then again..don't worry.All you need is a book Written by Stephan Hawking or Sigmund Freud.It works magic!

  6. hahaha.. Same pinch! even i thought of grazing cows only! πŸ˜€ mmmmmmm.. read a slow-paced yet interesting novel.. u may start feelin drowsy.. keep readin until u fall asleep.. another way is to start day-dreaming at night as well.. atleast that will stop your "go to sleep NOW" thoughts which really don't help!

  7. hemz says:

    it happens baby..I was always a night bird..but still envy the ppl who can sleep at the drop of hat πŸ˜‰

  8. meadow with a row of sleeping cows…!!LOL (holy cow!!)And as I think about why I dont get sleep sometimes I started feeling sleepy..and EUREKA!!

  9. Swati says:

    you write very well! Am mighty impressed πŸ™‚

  10. Anonymous says:

    Alom-vilom pranamayama before sleep will help u..kapalbathi and Bramhari in the morning will cure insomnia πŸ™‚

  11. Grace says:

    what to say, people say read books, but if I read books i read and read and read…and some go to sleep listening to songs..but for me I listen, listen, listen, I remember flipping the cassette again and again in my walk-man when I was in hostel..Well, I do get sleep but it comes in the wrong time in the afternoon when I have to go pick up my son!!!

  12. […] of the spectrum.Β He sometimes even dreams about sleeping!Β  While I’m mostly insomniac and sleepless,Β  The Bloke is usually knocked out even before the lights are out.Β This precisely is the reason […]

Leave a Reply

