I was never the same again!

Posted: March 21, 2013 in memoirs, Rants
Tags: , ,

‘No wedding-ring, I see. Ah! Good-night!’

My heart broke into million pieces when I read that. I don’t know if it was  the sarcasm behind those words or my rage or the concealed implications behind it or if it was my age that made me break into tears when I read that line. The ensuing life of Oliver Twist was much more teary and grime and though the fairy-tale ending made up for most of it, the heartless remark made by the doctor remained etched in my mind like forever.

Books hold a magic of their own and can deliver hope and laughter and at times, leave you scarred. And sometimes, for no reasons, some inconspicuous  things stick out of the book and catch up on you alter you for eternity. Sounds familiar?

Do you remember how the book, “Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” unfolds? Holmes explains to his dear Watson the difference between seeing and observing and how he notices the not-so-obvious unlike Watson and questions him on the number of steps leading to the hall and with ease, Holmes proves his point. I read this without batting an eyelid and no points for guessing what happened next. Yeah, in that sweltering summer of ’96, I ran out of my house, all the way down the stairs, counting it! At that time, I was this teenager who was hoping to be hit by an adventure. No, the adventure never happened. No one went missing in the neighborhood. No, not even the dog and there never was any mystery to be unraveled. But, I still count steps whenever I am in a new building and every time unconsciously, the conversation between Holmes and Watson plays in my head. Crazy? Yes, I know. And I still desperately hope for that adventure.

Image courtesy – wikipedia

It was in ’94, when I read the book, Pinocchio.  And guess what might have caught my attention in that book?  Strangely, it was the act of wishing upon the north pole star. We were in Delhi at that time. And our house opened into the terrace.  And many a nights, I used to gaze at the starlit sky and make wishes. I could never make out the north pole star so, I mostly ended wishing upon every other bright star. 😀 But thankfully, with years I grew out of this.

ps: This was inspired by daily prompt

Comments
  1. […] I was never the same again! | Filter Kaapi’s random rants […]

  2. […] I was never the same again! | Filter Kaapi’s random rants […]

  3. […] I was never the same again! | Filter Kaapi’s random rants […]

  4. I can so so feel thisp ost. I remember very odd things as well. Sometimes, I remember something on the cover. Or some line that is not crucial to the book (if you know what I mean) and it sticks.
    It happens for movies as well. I remember odd lines and when life resembles the scene, I can’t help but wonder how magical it all is.

    • Filter Kaapi says:

      Yaa, mostly it is something very inconspicuous that sticks out and leaves me wondering when I actually noticed it .. And sometimes, I wonder if I have a elephant’s memory for just odd things 😛

Leave a Reply

