Campus diaries

Posted: March 26, 2013 in memoirs, Rants, The Bloke and I, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

The Bloke finished his post graduation few months back. With that The Bloke’s two years long ordeal came to an end. Or, so I thought. The last two years whizzed by in a haze with whirlwind of activities and suspense and with days merging into each other and punched with deadlines.  While The Bloke endured all of that, I had the best time of my life.  There is just nothing comparable to the joy of relishing your dinner watching a pack of men gobble up their food and swot for the exam. And even more priceless is the pleasure in asking the inevitable question, “How many more chapters to go?”. Ya, I am wicked that way ;).

While The Bloke slogged, I savored the campus, walked around the roads and deserted paths, sometimes aimlessly and at times, in search of the best spot to sit and read a novel – in short, I had all the time to stand and stare and probably, I cherished it all the more since everyone around me were  caught up in a web of chores that they had to tick off from their list and I had none other than to follow my will.

Add to this,  the coffee served in the campus is one of the best, brewed exactly to my liking and that was all that I needed on cold foggy mornings and on rainy afternoons. Err.. Okay, let me admit, the weather was just an excuse, I just couldn’t keep my hand off that heavenly coffee  and the low price that I had to pay for it was a bonus ;).  And The Bloke is such a big fan of the buttermilk served here along with the meal that he didn’t believe me when I told him that it is just yogurt, water and salt and every time he drank it with his heart’s content, he set me off wondering about his north Indian roots. For the record, now all that he has to do is to slurp the Rasam and eat that curd rice and pickle and I can christen him as south Indian ;).

I had my share of embarrassing moments as well in campus . Once a foreign student shoved a sheet of numbers in front of me and asked me to explain it to her. I could feel her helplessness and yet for a moment, but the very situation tempted me  to try my luck at fishing out  theories out of thin air and explaining to her. But thankfully, better  sense prevailed and I squirmed in my seat until I made it clear that I don’t study there.

So even though we were counting quarters, days and exams all the time and were exuberant once The Bloke finished off his last exam, there was a part of me that cringed. The only consolation was that we could drive to the campus any day but so far it never happened at all since The Bloke just detests driving through the heavy traffic.  After the 3 months hiatus, I happened to visit the campus last week along with The Bloke with some miscellaneous errands as an excuse. We drank gallons of coffee, walked on the rustling leaves listening to the sound as they cracked beneath our feet and just like any other farewell we bid adieu with the same old thought – “Time flies”!

Comments
  1. Pepper says:

    This post was written for me. It was!

    • Filter Kaapi says:

      Haha 🙂 Lazing around in campus is my favourite pastime. I so wanted to include pictures in this post but couldn’t get hold of the hard drive. Hopefully, some other time.

  2. WOW. That made me so nostalgic though K and I weren’t married until he finished his post-grad and I was in another country. But we do go to his campus sometimes and he is always on cloud 9 everytime he encouters that fond stone bench or that lonely chikoo tree.

    It is one of my dreams to live on the college campus. So inspiring and lovely that life is! 🙂

  3. Arch says:

    Any chance this is the IISc campus?? 🙂
    I worked there for a year and a half and your post brought back so many memories of the place. Loved the coffee there. 🙂 🙂

    • Filter Kaapi says:

      This is IIMB campus. Have heard a lot about IISC campus through some of my friends who stayed there. 🙂

      • Arch says:

        oh wow!! I have been lucky enough to live on the IIMB campus too, when my dad worked there. It’s beautiful I know!! We had to later move from the quarters there, due to some family problems. 😦

Leave a Reply

